• About LMRI
  • What is MacTel?
  • The MacTel Project
  • A Patient’s Perspective
  • The Role of Partnerships in Medical Research
  • The Value of Basic and Translational Research
The Lowy Medical Research Institute (LMRI) oversees clinical, translational, and basic science research relevant to Macular Telangiectasia type 2, also known as MacTel.
Learn More »
About LMRI
MacTel is an age-related eye disorder that causes gradual deterioration of central vision. It is a disease of the retina, the light sensing tissue at the back of the eye.
Learn More »
About LMRI
The MacTel Project aims to improve the clinical understanding of MacTel, raise awareness of the disease, and identify causes and appropriate treatments. Get involved in MacTel research through the MacTel Project.
Learn More »
People experience challenges in their daily lives as a result of the MacTel, but they are learning to adapt their lifestyles to deal with changes in their vision.
Learn More »
LMRI - A Patients Perspective
Private, nonprofit research organizations play a unique role in biomedical research. The Lowy Medical Research Institute advances disease-specific research through partnerships with experts from around the world.
Learn More »
MacTel Project
The Lowy Medical Research Institute thrives on the interconnections between basic and translational research.
Learn More »
Translational Research
United Kingdom
Moorfields Eye Hospital

London, United Kingdom
Cathy Egan, MD

Emily Magnus
Tel: 020 7566 2117

Oxford Eye Hospital

Headington, Oxford
Peter Charbel Issa MD

Alexina Fantano
Tel: 01865 231053


United States


Scripps Research Institute

La Jolla, CA USA
Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD

Jennifer Trombley, RN
Tel: 858-554-6678
Email: Trombley.jennifer@scrippshealth.org

Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA

Los Angeles, CA USA
Jean-Pierre Hubschman, MD

Veronika Sadykov
Tel: 310-794-5596
Email: Sadykov@jsei.ucla.edu

Mary Crowley
Tel: 310-267-5278 Email:
Email: MECrowley@mednet.ucla.edu

University of California – San Francisco

UCSF Department of Ophthalmology
San Fransciso, CA USA
Jacque Duncan, MD

Arshia Mian
Tel: 415-476-0444
Email: arshia.mian@ucsf.edu

Byers Eye Institute – Stanford University

Palo Alto, California
Diana Do, MD

Lisa Greer
Tel: 650-725-9184
Email: lgreer7@stanford.edu


Retina Consultants of Southern Colorado

Colorado Springs, CO
Ryan Rich, MD

Sarah Roberts
Tel: 719-473-9595 ext. 134
Email: sroberts@coloradoretina.com

Brad Lovelace
Email: bradlovelace@coloradoretina.com


Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami

Miami, FL USA
Philip Rosenfeld, MD

Cristina Lage-Rodriguez
Tel: 305-326-6117
Email: clage@med.miami.edu


Emory University

Atlanta, GA
Jiong Yan, MD

Jayne Brown
Tel: 404-778-4430
Email: jmbrown@emory.edu


Northwestern University

Evanston, IL
Amani Fawzi, MD

Nicole Seddon
Tel: 312.695-0252
Email: nreinhol@nm.org


Retina Associates New Orleans

New Orleans, LA USA
Stanislav A. Zhuk, MD

Corey Marvel
Tel: 504-456-9061 ext 1111
Email: cmarvel@retinaassociates.org

Melinda Mitchell
Email: Melinda.mitchell@retinaassociates.org


Cumberland Valley Retina Consultants

Hagerstown, MD 21740
David Warrow, MD

Paula Smith
Tel: 301-665-1712
Email: paulas@retinacare.net


Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

Boston, MA USA
Joan Miller, MD

Patricia Houlihan
Tel: 617-573-3646
Email: patricia_houlihan@meei.harvard.edu

New England Retina Consultants

Springfield, MA. 01107
David LaLLY, MD

Leah Persky
Tel: 413-788-6044
Email: persky.leah@gmail.com


University of Michigan, Kellogg Eye Center

Ann Arbor, MI USA
Grant Comer, MD

Pam Campbell
Tel: 734-936-0138
Email: pamtitus@med.umich.edu

Associated Retinal Consultants – Royal Oak

Royal Oak, MI
Sandeep Randhawa, MD

Kendra Mellert
Tel: 248-288-9132 ext. 1313
E-mail: kmellert@arcpc.net

Associated Retinal Consultants – Grand Rapids

Grand Rapids, MI
V. Raphaelian, M.D.

Deb Markus
Email: dmarkus@arcpc.net

Associated Retinal Consultants – Traverse City

Traverse City, MI
Scott Sneed, MD

Serena Neal
Email: sneal@arcpc.net


Mayo Clinic

Rochester, MN
Sophie Bakri, MD

Heidi Rubin
Email: Rubin.heidi@mayo.edu


Sierra Eye Associates

Reno, NV
Arshad Khanani, MD

Deanna Dorman
Tel: 775-329-0286 x 141

New Jersey

Retina Center of New Jersey

Bloomfield, NJ
Patrick Higgins, MD

Diane Deininger
Tel: 973-707-5632
Email: ddeininger@retinacenternj.com

Susan Anderson
Tel: 973-707-5632
Email: sanderson@retinacenternj.com

New York

Vitreous, Retina, Macula Consultants of New York

New York, NY USA
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD

Renata Salgado
Tel: 212-452-6965
Email: rsalgado@vrmny.com

The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary

New York, NY USA
Richard Rosen, MD

Meliza Unson
Tel: 212-979-4672
Email: munson@nyee.edu

University of Rochester

Rochester, NY USA
Mina Chung, MD

Lisa Latchney
Tel: 585-273-2742
Email: Lisa_latchney@urmc.rochester.edu


Retina Associates of Cleveland, Inc.

Cleveland, OH USA
Lawrence Singerman, MD

Diane Weiss
Tel: 216-831-5704 Ext. 244
Email: dew@retina-assoc.com

Cincinnati Eye Institute

Cincinnati, OH USA
Daniel Miller, MD

Megan Kingdon
Tel: 513-569-3669
Email: mkingdon@cincinnatieye.com


Retina Northwest

Portland, OR
Michael Lee, MD

Pualani Smith

Tel: 971-865-2780
Email: psmith@retinanorthwest.com


Scheie Eye Institute

Philadelphia, PA USA
Alexander Brucker, MD

Sheri Drossner
Tel: 215-662-8177
Email: Sheri.Grand@uphs.upenn.edu


Retina Research Center

Austin, TX USA
Chirag Jhaveri, MD
Brian Berger, MD

Ivana Gunderson
Tel: 512-279-1251
Email: igunderson@e-retina.net


University of Utah Medical Center

Salt Lake City, Utah
Paul Bernstein, MD, PhD.

Kara Halsey
Tel: 801-213-2034
Email: Kara.halsey@utah.edu


University of Washington Eye Institute

Seattle, WA
Cecilia Lee, MD

Ian Luttrell
Email: luttri@uw.edu

Francy Moses
Email: mosesf@uw.edu


Medical College of Wisconsin

Milwaukee, WI USA
David Weinberg, MD

Ellie Dorsey
Tel: 414-955-7854
Email: edorsey@mcw.edu

Hopital Lariboisiere

Paris, France
Alain Gaudric, MD

Abir Zureik
Tel: 33 1 49 95 64 86
Email: abir.zureik@aphp.fr

Universitats-Augenklinik Bonn

Bonn, Germany
Frank Holz, MD

Simone Müller
Email: Simone.Mueller@ukbonn.de

Kerstin Bartsch
Email: Kerstin.Bartsch@ukbonn.de

St. Franziskus Hospital

Muenster, Germany
Prof. Daniel Pauleikhoff

Elke Attenberger
Tel: 0251-9352758
Email: elke.attenberger@uveitis-zentrum.de

Eye Center, Medical Center

Felicitas Bucher, MD

Dagmar Rommel
Telefon: 0761 270-40231
Email: dagmar.rommel@uniklinik-freiburg.de

The Goldschleger Eye Institute

Tel Hashomer, Israel
Joseph Moisseiev, MD

Rinat Rashty
Tel: 972-3-530 2877
Email: Rinat.rashty@sheba.health.gov.il


Klinik und Poliklinik fur Augenheilkunde
University of Bern
Bern, Switzerland
Sebastian Wolf, MD, PhD
41 31 6328503

Center for Eye Research Australia

Melbourne, Australia
Robyn Guymer, MD

Melinda Cain
Tel: 61 3 9929 8396
Email: mcain@unimelb.edu.au

Emily Caruso
Tel: 61 3 9929 8113
Email: emily.caruso@unimelb.edu.au

Lions Eye Institute

Nedlands, Australia
Ian Constable, MD

Toni Busby
Tel: +61 08 6382 0582
Email: toni.busby@lei.org.au

Diana Bowman
Tel: +61 8 9381 0777
Email: DianaBowman@lei.org.au

Save Sight Institute

Sydney NSW Australia
Mark Gillies, MD, PhD

Antoinette Dezoysa
Tel +61 2 9382 7309
Email: Antoinette.dezoysa@sydney.edu.au

Sharon McKenzie
Tel +61 2 9382 7309
Email: sharon.mckenzie@sydney.edu.au


Radboud University Medical Center

Nijmegen, Netherlands

CB Hoyng, MD
Tel: +31 (0)24 36 15255
Email: trialcentrum.ohk@radboudumc.nl

Asha Kalisingh
Tel: + 0243613212
Email: asha.kalisingh@radboudumc.nl

Eramus Medical Center

Rotterdam, Netherlands
J. Vingerling, MD

Annelies Hameete
Email: a.vietje-hameete@erasmusmc.nl