Board of Scientific Governors

The Lowy Medical Research Institute is advised by a distinguished Board of Scientific Governors. Members of the Board are leaders in medicine, translational research, and basic science research. The Board advises on current scientific projects and future research directions at The Lowy Medical Research Institute.

Alan Bird

Alan Bird

Professor Emeritus, The Institute of Ophthalmology Moorfields Eye Hospital, London

Dr. Bird is Professor Emeritus; a distinguished clinician and scientist. Throughout his career, he has made significant contributions to vision research. His research has improved the understanding of retinal degenerative diseases, and the clinical management of those diseases.

Read More
Guenter Blobel

Günter Blobel, M.D., PH.D.

John D. Rockefeller Jr. Professor, Cell Biology, Rockefeller University;
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Blobel is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1999). His current research focuses on elucidating the structure of the nuclear pore complex, at atomic resolution.

Read More
Connie Cepko

Connie Cepko, Ph.D.

Bullard Professor of Genetics & Neuroscience, Harvard Medical School;
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Cepko is member of the Departments of Genetics and Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School. She is also a Co-Director and founder of the Leder Human Biology and Translational Medicine training program at Harvard University. Her research focuses on identifying the molecular events that control retinal cell fate during development and cell death during disease.

Read More
John Dowling

John Dowling, Ph.D.

Gordon and Llura Gund Research Professor of Neurosciences, Harvard University

Dr. Dowling is a Professor at Harvard University, and an expert on retinal structure and function. His research interests have focused on neuronal organization in the retina, along with neurotransmission and neuromodulation.

Read More
Martin Friedlander

Martin Friedlander, M.D., Ph.D

President of The Lowy Medical Research Institute;
Professor, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, The Scripps Research Institute;
Chief, Retina Services, Department of Ophthalmology, Scripps Clinic

Dr. Friedlander is the President of LMRI, Professor at TSRI, and Chief of Retina Services at the Scripps Clinic. He oversees a laboratory program that is focused on understanding basic mechanisms that regulate the growth of new blood vessels as well as cell-cell interactions that help maintain normal neuronal function in the retina. His laboratory is interested in “translational” research with the goal of identifying new therapies to treat retinal diseases, including Macular Telangiectasia type 2.

Read More
Joseph Gleeson

Joseph G. Gleeson, M.D.

Rady Endowed Professor of Neuroscience, University of California, San Diego
Hess Professor, Laboratory for Pedatric Brain Diseases, Rockefeller University
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Gleeson is Professor of Neurosciences and Pediatrics at UCSD, Investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. His goal is to understand the genetic basis of diseases such as mental retardation, epilepsy and autism and develop new treatments. Dr. Gleeson is a member of the Institute of Medicine, a division of the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine.

Read More
Robert Graham

Robert Graham, A.O., F.A.A., M.D.

Executive Director, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute (VCCRI);
Sydney Des Renford Professor of Medicine, University of New South Wales

Dr. Graham is the Executive Director of the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute and a Professor of Medicine, Cardiology. He is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and a foreign member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters. He is a scientific advisor for a number of international research councils and boards.

Read More
Edward Holmes

Edward W. Holmes, M.D.

CEO/President of Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine
Distinguished Professor, University of California
Vice Chancellor/Dean Emeritus of Health Sciences, UCSD
Executive Deputy Chairman, Biomedical Research Council, Singapore

Dr. Holmes was appointed a Howard Hughes Medical Investigator at Duke University School of Medicine in 1974 and later became the James B. Wyngaarden Professor of Medicine. He was recruited to the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 1991 as the Chair of the Department of Medicine and the Frank Wister Thomas Professor of Medicine and Genetics.

Read More
Ehud Isacoff

Ehud Isacoff, PH.D.

Chair and Professor of Neurobiology, University of California, Berkeley

Dr. Isacoff is a Professor at UC Berkeley, in the Department of Neuroscience. He has been a pioneer of optogenetics research, using light to study neural circuits and neural transmission. He applies this research to neuronal diseases, including retinal disease, to restore neural function.

Read More
Susan Quaggin

Susan Quaggin, M.D., F.R.C.P.(C)

Professor, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Director, Feinberg Cardiovascular Research Institute
Chief, Division of Medicine - Nephrology

Dr. Quaggin is the Charles H. Mayo Professor of Medicine and Chief of Nephology at Northwestern University. Her research program focuses on the genetic pathways required to establish and maintain microvascular beds.

Read More
Lee Rubin

Lee Rubin, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, Harvard University
Director of Translational Medicine, Harvard Stem Cell Institute

Dr. Rubin has worked in both industry and academia, and has drug discovery experience in both settings. He is currently a Professor at Harvard University, and Director of Translational Medicine at the Harvard Stem Cell Institute. His research interests focus on identifying therapeutics for orphan neural disorders.

Read More
United Kingdom

Moorfields Eye Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Cathy Egan, MD
011 44 20 7566 2262

United States


Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA USA
Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD

Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA
Los Angeles, CA USA
Jean-Pierre Hubschman, MD


Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami
Miami, FL USA
Philip Rosenfeld, MD


Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary
Boston, MA USA
Joan Miller, MD


University of Michigan, Kellogg Eye Center
Ann Arbor, MI USA
Grant Comer, MD

New York

Manhattan Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital
New York, NY USA
Michael Cooney, MD
212 861-9797

The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary
New York, NY USA
Richard Rosen, MD


Retina Associates of Cleveland, Inc.
Cleveland, OH USA
Lawrence Singerman, MD


Scheie Eye Institute
Philadelphia, PA USA
Alexander Brucker, MD


University of Utah Medical Center
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paul Bernstein, MD, PhD.


The Retina Group of Washington
Fairfax, VA USA
Robert Murphy, MD


University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI USA
Barbara Blodi, MD


Hopital Lariboisiere
Paris, France
Alain Gaudric, MD
011 33 1 4995 2475


Universitats-Augenklinik Bonn
Bonn, Germany
Frank Holz, MD
011 49 228 287 5647

St. Franziskus Hospital
Muenster, Germany
Prof. Daniel Pauleikhoff
Bjorn Padge, MD
011 49-251-93308-0


The Goldschleger Eye Institute
Tel Hashomer, Israel
Joseph Moisseiev, MD
011 972 3 5343462


Klinik und Poliklinik fur Augenheilkunde
University of Bern
Bern, Switzerland
Sebastian Wolf, MD, PhD
41 31 6328503


Center for Eye Research Australia
Melbourne, Australia
Robyn Guymer, MD
011 61 3 9929 8393

Lions Eye Institute
Nedlands, Australia
Ian Constable, MD
011 61 8 9381 0882

Save Sight Institute
Sydney NSW Australia
Mark Gillies, MD, PhD
011 61 412 060 313