How to Participate

Individuals who have been diagnosed with macular telangiectasia type 2 and their family members can participate in clinical research through the Lowy Medical Research Institute. Clinical research includes the Registry, its associated genetics study, and clinical trials.  If you would like to participate in clinical research, the first step is to enroll in the MacTel Project Registry.

To enroll in the Registry, please refer to the list of registry sites.  Contact the site most accessible to you, or contact us for assistance. The study coordinator at the site will assist you with scheduling an appointment.

If you have family members who also have MacTel, who may develop MacTel with age, or who have vision problems similar to MacTel, your immediate family can participate in the registry. Families are an important aspect of LMRI’s genetics and laboratory research programs, and we invite both affected and unaffected family members to participate.

By enrolling in the Registry, you may have the opportunity to participate in clinical trials.  You will also be contributing to medical knowledge about macular telangiectasia type 2.

If you have questions about the Registry or ongoing clinical trials, please contact LMRI.

We encourage you to learn about clinical trials that are currently open for enrollment.


Choose a country or region:

United States

California

Scripps Health

La Jolla, CA USA
Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD

Jennifer Trombley, RN
Tel: 760-666-0452
Email: Trombley.jennifer@scrippshealth.org

 

Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA

Los Angeles, CA USA
Jean-Pierre Hubschman, MD

Rosaleen Ostrick
Tel: 310-794-5595
Email: ostrick@jsei.ucla.edu

Stephanie Andrade
Tel: 310-267-5278
Email: SDAndrade@mednet.ucla.edu

Frank Chaves
Tel: 310-794-5596
Email: FrankChavez@mednet.ucla.edu

University of California – San Francisco

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

UCSF Department of Ophthalmology
San Fransciso, CA USA
Jacque Duncan, MD

Stephanie Duret
Tel: 415-514-4240
Email: Stephanie.Duret@ucsf.edu

Arshia Mian
Tel: 415-476-0444
Email: arshia.mian@ucsf.edu

Mary Lew
Email: Mary.Lew@ucsf.edu

 

Byers Eye Institute – Stanford University

Palo Alto, CA USA
Diana Do, MD

Jonathan Regenold
Tel: 650-724-8553
Email: jregano@stanford.edu

 

Bay Area Retina Associates

Walnut Creek, CA USA
Roger Goldberg, MD

Karrie Padilla
Tel: 925-943-6800
Email: kpadilla@bayarearetina.com

 

Retina-Vitreous Associates Medical Group

Beverly Hills, CA USA
David Boyer, MD

Janet Kurokouchi
Tel: 310-289-2478 ext. 3
Email: JKurokouchi@laretina.com

 

Colorado

Retina Consultants of Southern Colorado

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Colorado Springs, CO
Ryan Rich, MD

Jordan Townsend
Tel: 719-473-9595 ext. 123
Email: jtownsend@coloradoretina.com

Victoria Lee
Email: vlee@coloradoretina.com

Kari Winger
Tel: 719-473-9595
Email: kwinger@coloradoretina.com

 

Florida

Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Miami, FL USA
Philip Rosenfeld, MD, PhD

Yasoara Reyes
Email: yxr335@med.miami.edu

Maria Y. Esquiabro, CCRC, CCRA
Tel: 305-326-6508
Email: mesquiabro@med.miami.edu

 

Center for Retina and Macular Disease-Central Florida

Winter Haven, FL USA
Richard Hamilton, MD

Toni Collins
Tel: 863-297-5400 ext. 2046
Email: tocol@crmd.net

Tammy McCarty
Email: tamc@crmd.net

 

Georgia

Emory University

Atlanta, GA
Jiong Yan, MD

Donna Leef
Tel: 404-778-4134
Email: dleef@emory.edu

 

 

Illinois

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL
Amani Fawzi, MD

Michell Kim
Tel: 312-503-2229
Email: michell.kim@northwestern.edu

Emily Powell
Tel: 312-695-2573
Email: Emily.powell@nm.org

Rachel Moore
Tel: 312-472-4051
Email: rachel.moore@northwestern.edu

Komel Safdar
Tel: 312-472-3237
Email: komel.safdar@nm.org

 

Louisiana

Retina Associates New Orleans

New Orleans, LA USA
Stanislav A. Zhuk, MD

Melinda Mitchell
Tel: 504-456-9061
Email: Melinda.mitchell@retinaassociates.org

 

 

Maryland

Cumberland Valley Retina Consultants

Hagerstown, MD 21740
David Warrow, MD

Kishia Alford
Tel: 301-665-1712 x 1303
Email: KishiaA@retinacare.net

 

Elman Retina Group, P.A.

Baltimore, MD USA
Michael J Elman, MD

JoAnn Starr
Tel: 410-686-3000
Email: Starr@elmanretina.com

 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

Boston, MA USA
Joan Miller, MD

Patricia Houlihan
Tel: 617-573-3646
Email: patricia_houlihan@meei.harvard.edu

Yuki Wiland
Email: Yuki_Wiland@meei.harvard.edu

Nicole Goldschmidt
Email: Nicole_Goldschmidt@meei.harvard.edu

New England Retina Consultants

Springfield, MA USA
David Lally, MD

Rachel O’Brien
Email: rachel.obrien@neretina.com

Megan Carvalho
Email: mcarvalho@neretina.com

 

Michigan

University of Michigan, Kellogg Eye Center

Ann Arbor, MI USA
Grant Comer, MD

Pam Campbell
Tel: 734-936-0138
Email: pamtitus@med.umich.edu

 

Associated Retinal Consultants – Royal Oak

Royal Oak, MI USA
Sandeep Randhawa, MD

Kendra Mellert
Tel: 248-288-9132 ext. 1313
E-mail: kmellert@arcpc.net

 

Associated Retinal Consultants – Grand Rapids

Grand Rapids, MI USA
Paul V. Raphaelian, M.D.

Deb Markus
Email: dmarkus@arcpc.net

 

Associated Retinal Consultants – Traverse City

Traverse City, MI USA
Scott Sneed, MD

Serena Neal
Email: sneal@arcpc.net

 

 

Minnesota

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, MN USA
Sophie Bakri, MD

Jessica Morgan
Email: Morgan.Jessica@mayo.edu

 

 

Missouri

The Retina Institute

St. Louis, MO USA
Daniel Joseph, MD, PhD

Lauren McDonald
Email: lauren.mcdonald-mueller@rc-stl.com

Allan Braverman
Email: allan.braverman@rc-stl.com

Nevada

Sierra Eye Associates

Reno, NV USA
Arshad Khanani, MD

Deanna Dorman
Tel: 775-329-0286 x 141
Email:ddorman@sierraeyeassociates.com

Aamir Aziz
Email: aaziz@sierraeyeassociates.com

Heather Southwick
Email: hpopovich@sierraeyeassociates.com

 

New Jersey

Retina Center of New Jersey

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Bloomfield, NJ USA
Patrick Higgins, MD

Diane Deininger
Tel: 973-707-5632
Email: ddeininger@retinacenternj.com

Kathleen Rodriguez
Tel: 973-707-5632
Email: krodriguez@retinacenternj.com

 

 

New York

Vitreous, Retina, Macula Consultants of New York

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

New York, NY USA
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD

Maria Scolaro
Tel: 646-655-0694
Email: research@vrmny.com

Samira Shirwa
Tel: 212-452-6929
Email: sshirwa@vrmny.com

Ophthalmic Consultants of Long Island

Oceanside, NY USA
Glenn Stoller, MD

Isabel Lezcano
Tel: 516-593-4026
Email: ilezcano@ocli.net

Susan Jones
Email: sjones@ocli.net

Carla Del Castillo
Email: cdelcastillo@ocli.net

 

Ohio

Retina Associates of Cleveland, Inc.

Cleveland, OH USA
Lawrence Singerman, MD

Diane Weiss
Tel: 216-831-5704 Ext. 244
Email: dew@retina-assoc.com

 

Cincinnati Eye Institute

Cincinnati, OH USA
Daniel Miller, MD

Megan Kingdon
Tel: 513-569-3669
Email: mkingdon@cincinnatieye.com

Gideon Gyebi
Email: ggyebi@cvphealth.com

Oklahoma

Tulsa Retina Consultants

Tulsa, OK USA
Lars Freisberg, MD

Debbie Hardison
Email: ddhardison@retinatulsa.com

 

Oregon

Retina Northwest

Portland, OR USA
Michael Lee, MD

Brian Puckett

Tel: 503-274-2121
Email: bpuckett@retinanorthwest.com

 

Pennsylvania

Scheie Eye Institute

Philadelphia, PA USA
Alexander Brucker, MD

Sheri Drossner
Tel: 215-662-8177
Email: Sheri.Grand@uphs.upenn.edu

 

South Carolina

Palmetto Retina Center

West Columbia, SC USA
John A Wells III, MD

Peggy Miller
Tel: 803-404-5038
Email: pmcdougal@palmettoretina.com

Mallie Taylor 
Email: mtaylor@palmettoretina.com

Tennessee

Southeastern Retina Associates, P.C.

Knoxville, TN USA
Joseph M Googe Jr, MD

Kristina Oliver
Tel: 865-588-0811
Email: koliver@seretina.com

Julie Asher
Tel: 865-588-0811
Email: jasher@serretina.com

 

Charles Retina

Germantown, TN USA
Steve Charles, MD

Molly Scott
Tel: 901-767-4499 ext. 242
Email: mscott@charlesretina.com

 

 

Texas

Retina Research Center

Austin, TX USA
Brian Berger, MD

Ivana Gunderson
Tel: 512-279-1251
Email: igunderson@e-retina.net

Kaitlyn Timmons
Tel: 512-279-1251 x 209
Email: ktimmons@retinaresearchcenter.net

Retinal Consultants of Houston

Houston, TX USA
Charles Wykoff, MD, PhD.

Sarah Weidlein
Tel: 832-200-3905
Email: sarah.weidlein@houstonretina.com

Jose Munoz
Tel: 713-524-3434
Email: jose.munoz@houstonretina.com

 

Texas Retina Associates

Dallas, TX USA
Gary Fish, MD

Karen Duignan
Tel: 214-692-6885 ext. 1
Email: kduignan@texasretina.com

 

Retina Center of Texas

Southlake, TX USA
Jawad Qureshi, MD

Abdirahman Dahir
Tel: 817-685-6800 x124
Email: abdi.dahir@retinacentertx.com

 

Utah

University of Utah Medical Center

Salt Lake City, UT USA
Paul Bernstein, MD, PhD.

Barbara Hart
Tel: 801-581-6459
Email: barbara.hart@hsc.utah.edu

 

 

Washington

University of Washington Eye Institute

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Seattle, WA USA
Cecilia Lee, MD

Simona Vuletic
Email: simona@uw.edu

 

Wisconsin

Medical College of Wisconsin

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Milwaukee, WI USA
David Weinberg, MD

Amber Irons
Tel: 414-955-2031
Email: airons@mcw.edu

United Kingdom

Moorfields Eye Hospital

London, United Kingdom
Cathy Egan, MD

Matala Dyke
Tel: 020 7566 2108 x 2835
Email:  Moorfields.mactelstudy@nhs.net

 

 

Oxford Eye Hospital

Headington, Oxford
Peter Charbel Issa MD, DPHIL, FEBO

Alexina Fantato
Tel:  01865 231053

Email: alexina.fantato@ouh.nhs.uk

Europe

France

Hopital Lariboisiere

Paris, France
Alain Gaudric, MD

Abir Zureik
Tel: 33 1 49 95 64 86
Email: abir.zureik@aphp.fr

 

Germany

Universitats-Augenklinik Bonn

Bonn, Germany
Frank Holz, MD

Kerstin Bartsch
Email: Kerstin.Bartsch@ukbonn.de

Lukas Goerdt
Email: lukas.goerdt@ukbonn.edu

 

St. Franziskus Hospital

Muenster, Germany
Prof. Daniel Pauleikhoff

Elke Attenberger
Tel: 0251-9352758
Email: elke.attenberger@uveitis-zentrum.de

 

Eye Center, Medical Center

Freiburg
Felicitas Bucher, MD

Dagmar Rommel
Tel: 0761 270-40231
Email: dagmar.rommel@uniklinik-freiburg.de

 

Netherlands

Radboud University Medical Center

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Nijmegen, Netherlands

CB Hoyng, MD
Tel: +31 (0)24 36 15255
Email: trialcentrum.ohk@radboudumc.nl

Asha Kalisingh
Tel: + 0243613212
Email: asha.kalisingh@radboudumc.nl

 

 

Eramus Medical Center

**REGISTRY (NHOR) ONLY**

Rotterdam, Netherlands
J. Vingerling, MD

Marjo-Lan Jansen
Email: m.janesen-vandrecht@erasmusmc.nl

 

Switzerland

Hopital Ophtalmique Jules-Gonin

Lausanne, Switzerland
Ferenc Sallo, MD

Aurelia Gryczka
Tel: +41 21 626 80 56
Email: aurelia.gryczka@fa2.ch

Australia

Center for Eye Research Australia

Melbourne, Australia
Robyn Guymer, MD

Melinda Cain
Tel: 61 3 9929 8388
Email: mcain@unimelb.edu.au

Emily Caruso
Tel: 61 3 9929 8113
Email: emily.caruso@unimelb.edu.au

 

 

Lions Eye Institute

Nedlands, Australia
Ian Constable, MD

Natalie Duncalf
Tel: +618 9381 0753
Email: natalieduncalf@lei.org.au

Rachel McGee
Tel: +618 9381 0755
Email: rachelmcgee@lei.org.au

 

 

 

Save Sight Institute

Sydney NSW Australia
Mark Gillies, MD, PhD

Emily Luu 
Tel +61 2 9382 7309
Email: emily.luu@sydney.edu.au

Sharon McKenzie
Tel +61 2 9382 7309
Email: sharon.mckenzie@sydney.edu.au