Board of Directors

Frank Lowy

Frank Lowy AC

Frank Lowy is the Chairman of Westfield Corporation. Mr Lowy served as the Westfield Group’s Chief Executive Officer for over 50 years before assuming a non-executive role in the former Westfield Group in May 2011. He is the founder and Chairman of the Lowy Medical Research Institute, and the founder and Chairman of the Lowy Institute for International Policy. In November 2015 he retired as Chairman of Football Federation Australia Limited and in May 2016 he retired as Chairman of Scentre Group. Mr Lowy is Chairman of Westfield Corporation’s Nomination Committee.

David Lowy

David Lowy AM

David Lowy is Chief Executive of LFG, the Family Office and private investment group of the Lowy family. Prior to founding LFG, Mr Lowy worked for the Westfield Group from 1977 to 2000 in positions including Executive Director, Managing Director and non-executive Deputy Chairman, he retired from the Board in 2011.  David is the Founder and President of Temora Aviation Museum, a Director of the Lowy Institute for International Policy, a Director of The Lowy Medical Research Institute Limited and Director of the Institute for National Strategic Studies.  David is also a pilot and a musician.


Steven Lowy

Steven Lowy AM

Steven Lowy is an executive Director of Westfield Corporation and currently serves as Co-Chief Executive Officer.  He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from the University of NSW. Prior to joining Westfield in 1987, Mr. Lowy worked in investment banking in the US.  He is Chairman of Football Federation Australia Limited, a non-executive Director of Scentre Group and the Lowy Institute for International Policy.  Mr. Lowy’s previous appointments include President of the Board of Trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Chairman of the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute and Presiding Officer of the NSW Police Force Associate Degree in Policing Practice Board of Management.  Prior to the establishment of Westfield Corporation, Mr. Lowy was the Joint Managing Director of the Westfield Group from 1997.

Stephen Johns

Stephen Johns

Stephen Johns was an Executive Director of Westfield Holdings Limited from 1985 until 2013. He holds a Bachelor of Economics degree from the University of Sydney and is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr. Johns held a number of executive positions within Westfield from 1970 to 2003, including Group Finance Director from 1985 to 2002; he was a non-executive Director from October 2003 until his retirement from Westfield Board in May 2013. He is Chairman of Brambles Limited and a former Chairman of Leighton Holdings Limited and Spark Infrastructure Group. Mr. Johns is also a Director of the Garvan Medical Research Institute.

Robert Graham

Robert Graham AO, FAA, MD

Dr. Robert Graham is the Des Renford Professor of Medicine, University of New South Wales, and has been the inaugural Executive Director of the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute (VCCRI) in Sydney, Australia, since returning to Australia in 1994. Prior to that, he spent 17 years in the United States working at Southwestern Medical School, Dallas; the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School; the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; the Cleveland Clinic Foundation and Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.

Frank Martin

Frank Martin

Frank Martin is Clinical Professor, University of Sydney and a Visiting Ophthalmologist at the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network, Sydney Eye Hospital and Royal Darwin Hospital. He is chairman of the Board of the Children’s Medical Research Institute and the Westmead Research HUB Council. He is on the Board of the International Council of Ophthalmology and the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.

Ian Constable

Ian Constable AO

Ian Constable AO is the Foundation Lions Professor of Ophthalmology, Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science, The University of Western Australia and was Founding Managing Director of the Lions Eye Institute Limited. He is a member of Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis and the State Health Research Advisory Council. He is also the Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, to the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Western Australia and the past-president of the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.

United Kingdom

Moorfields Eye Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Cathy Egan, MD
011 44 20 7566 2262

United States


Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA USA
Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD

Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA
Los Angeles, CA USA
Jean-Pierre Hubschman, MD


Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami
Miami, FL USA
Philip Rosenfeld, MD


Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary
Boston, MA USA
Joan Miller, MD


University of Michigan, Kellogg Eye Center
Ann Arbor, MI USA
Grant Comer, MD

New York

Manhattan Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital
New York, NY USA
Michael Cooney, MD
212 861-9797

The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary
New York, NY USA
Richard Rosen, MD


Retina Associates of Cleveland, Inc.
Cleveland, OH USA
Lawrence Singerman, MD


Scheie Eye Institute
Philadelphia, PA USA
Alexander Brucker, MD


University of Utah Medical Center
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paul Bernstein, MD, PhD.


The Retina Group of Washington
Fairfax, VA USA
Robert Murphy, MD


University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI USA
Barbara Blodi, MD


Hopital Lariboisiere
Paris, France
Alain Gaudric, MD
011 33 1 4995 2475


Universitats-Augenklinik Bonn
Bonn, Germany
Frank Holz, MD
011 49 228 287 5647

St. Franziskus Hospital
Muenster, Germany
Prof. Daniel Pauleikhoff
Bjorn Padge, MD
011 49-251-93308-0


The Goldschleger Eye Institute
Tel Hashomer, Israel
Joseph Moisseiev, MD
011 972 3 5343462


Klinik und Poliklinik fur Augenheilkunde
University of Bern
Bern, Switzerland
Sebastian Wolf, MD, PhD
41 31 6328503


Center for Eye Research Australia
Melbourne, Australia
Robyn Guymer, MD
011 61 3 9929 8393

Lions Eye Institute
Nedlands, Australia
Ian Constable, MD
011 61 8 9381 0882

Save Sight Institute
Sydney NSW Australia
Mark Gillies, MD, PhD
011 61 412 060 313